FROM THE WASHINGTON PAPER MAY 13,1898...
A.H. Dearborn was a Washington County Pioneer, coming from Iowa in the Fall of 1868. He succeed in in spite of hot winds and grass hoppers and added a several hundred acres. Being by nature a trader, he began trafficking in cattle, hogs, and grain, and in a few years, moved to Greenleaf. About the year 1884 he came to Barnes and pursued the calling until 1895, when he planned and erected one of the most substantial buiness blocks in the County at a cost of nearly $8,000.
Mr. Dearborn is the architect of the structure and superintended the work from cellar to roof. The dimensions are 52-84 on ground and is 45 feet each, with ten foot ceiling, and back of these are two cellars, 24x39 feet.
The first story facing on Center street contains two store rooms, 24 x 80 feet with 14 foot ceiling. A stairway leads from the street to the second story where is found an exceptionall fine opera hall; 49 x 55 in the clear with a 14 foot ceiling. At the back end are two large dressing rooms with a 20 foot stage between, equipped with fine curtain scenery. 18 feet of the front of the upper story is divided into very nice office rooms. He occupies one store room with general merchandise and the other with hardware. The building is capable of accommodating a $30,000 stock. The material of this building of rock and lumber was the best to be had and it is but a matter of simple justice to say that Mr. Dearborn is to be commended for this enduring landmark.